Construction News

Wed June 29 2022

Related Information

Construction downgraded on PM’s business council

2 Feb The prime minster has reconstituted his business council, with a significantly reduced representation from construction and infrastructure interests.

Julie White
Julie White

Julie White, managing director of D-Drill (Master Drillers) Ltd and vice chair of the Build UK trade group, is the sole construction industry voice among the 28 business leaders chosen to sit on the prime minister’s revamped business council.

Balfour Beatty chief executive Leo Quinn and Arup transport leader Isabel Dedring were previously on the council, then called the Build Back Better Council, but are no longer involved. The construction sector was also previously represented by Cressida Hogg as chairman of Land Securities and Nigel Wilson, chief executive of Legal & General – which, although primarily an insurance company, is investing millions into house-building.

Related Information

The full list of 28 business leaders on the new council, which meets quarterly, is:

  • Keith Anderson, Chief Executive, Scottish Power
  • Clare Barclay, Chief Executive Officer, Microsoft UK
  • Amanda Blanc, Group Chief Executive Officer, Aviva
  • Anne Boden, Founder and CEO of Starling Bank
  • Matt Boyle, Managing Director of Turn tide Transport
  • Alison Brittain, Chief Executive, Whitbread PLC
  • Julie Brown, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer, Burberry
  • Anita Frew, Chair, Rolls Royce
  • Charles Hammond, Chief Executive Officer, Forth Ports Limited
  • Aki Hussain, Group CEO of Hiscox
  • Greg Jackson, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Octopus
  • Dawid Konotey-Ahulu, co-founder, Redington Ltd
  • David Livingstone, Chief Executive Officer, Europe, Middle East and Africa, Citi
  • Martin Meeson, Chief Executive Officer, Fujifilm
  • Charlie Nunn, Group Chief Executive, Lloyds Banking Group
  • Dame Anne Richards, Chief Executive Officer, Fidelity International
  • Paula Rosput Reynolds, Board Member of bp, National Grid and GE
  • Dr Gordon Sanghera, co-founder, Oxford Nanopore
  • Matthew Scullion, CEO, Matillion
  • Baroness Joanna Shields, Chief Executive Officer, Benevolent AI
  • Joanna Swash, Group CEO of Moneypenny
  • Nigel Toon, Chief Executive Officer and co-founder, Graphcore
  • Ben van Beurden, Chief Executive Officer, Shell
  • Richard Walker, Managing Director, Iceland Foods
  • Shai Weiss, CEO, Virgin Atlantic
  • Julie White, Managing Director, D-Drill (Master Drillers) Ltd
  • Lena Wilson, Chair AGS Airports, Chair Picton Property and Non Executive Director Natwest

Got a story? Email


Click here to view more construction news »