Construction News

Wed February 20 2019

Related Information

Greenwich Millennium Village moves to next stage

25 Jan 11 A design competition for the development of the remainder of Greenwich Millennium Village in London has been won by a team led by Jestico + Whiles, including architects Peter Barber Architects and Studio 54 Architecture.

Whitelaw Turkington, working on landscape, XCO2, advising on low energy solutions, and acoustic consultants Sandy Brown Associates make up the rest of the winning team.

Judges from Greenwich Millennium Village Ltd (GMVL), the Homes & Communities Agency (HCA) and CABE picked this team to take forward the masterplan and the design of the future phases of the development. 

The original masterplan and some of the early phase buildings were designed by the late Ralph Erskine during the 1990s, and the new design team will update his vision and work on phases three, four and five. 

GMVL, a joint venture development by Countryside Properties and Taylor Wimpey Developments in association with the HCA, is preparing an outline planning application that is expected to comprise around 1,800 homes, together with commercial and community buildings, new public spaces and landscaping. 

Related Information

Detailed planning permission is being sought for the first sub-phase, expected to consist of around 500 homes, with more than 100 townhouses being started when planning is approved.  A planning application is expected to be submitted later this year.

The winning design offers a ‘human-scale’ scheme, that uses a mixture of townhouses and apartments in lower rise buildings of between three and five storeys, to focus strongly on street life, the HCA said.  It added: “It uses traditional street patterns with narrower mews, in a way that is compatible with the ‘courtyard’ design language of the initial phases, yet establishes its own identity.  The initial phases of the Village featured semi-private landscaped courtyards, and the refreshing approach by the Jestico + Whiles team offers an alternative that is in line with the founding principles of the original design.  The high quality of the design will ensure that it can accommodate any future trends in residents’ changes to styles of living.”

Six teams were selected to compete in the design competition. The five losers were:

  • Aecom / Maccreanor Lavington / Karakusevic Carson (one of the three short listed teams)
  • Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios / Proctor and Matthews / Alison Brooks / S333 / Grant Associates (one of the three short listed teams)
  • Pollard Thomas Edwards / Stanton Williams / Nathaniel Litchfield / Hoare Lea / Farrar Huxley / Price and Myers / Bickerdike Allen
  • Studio Egret West / AKT / Atelier Ten / Paul Gilleron
  • Tibbalds Planning and Urban Design / MJP Architects / PCKO Architects / Allen Pyke


Latest News

Click here to view more construction news »